ARCH 378.755 W317mo 1960

OFICIAL PROGRAM

By S. W. M. S. F. C.

Washington and Lee University's 1960

Mock Democratic National Convention



May 2 and 3, 1960

LEXINGTON, VIRGINIA

25c

1960 Mock Democratic National Convention

Washington and Lee University May 2, 1960

2 p.m.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

Pre-Convention Parade.

4 p.m.

Convention called to order by the Honorable Thomas B. Bryant, III, of South Carolina, presiding officer, Chairman of the Democratic National Committee.

National Anthem-led by the Washington and Lee University Band.

Invocation by the Rt. Rev. Wm. H. Marmion, Bishop of the Diocese of Southwestern Virginia.

Address of welcome by the Honorable Paul A. Holstein, Mayor of Lexington, Virginia.

Call for convention by the Honorable F. William Ling, of Virginia, secretary of the Democratic National Committee.

Appointment of Convention Standing Committees.

Election of Temporary Officers.

Presentation of the Honorable H. Graham Morison, former Assistant Attorney General of the United States.

Introduction of the Temporary Chairman, The Honorable Harry S. Truman, of Missouri, by the Honorable H. Graham Morison.

Address of the Temporary Chairman.

Dedication of Memorial to Senator Alben W. Barkley.

Report of Committee on Permanent Organization.

Election of Permanent Chairman and Permanent Officers.

Acceptance of Permanent Chairman.

Memorial Resolution.

Recess until 8 p.m.

8 p.m.

Convention called to order by the Permanent Chairman, The Honorable Charles L. McCormick, III, of Virginia.

Invocation by the Rev. C. Douglas Chase, First Presbyterian Church, Lexington, Virginia.

Presentation of the Honorable Henry M. Jackson, U. S. Senator from the State of Washington.

Address by the Honorable Henry M. Jackson.

Report of Committee on Credentials.

Report of Committee on Rules and Order of Business.

Report of Committee on Platform and Resolutions.

Nominations for President of the United States.

Roll Call on Presidential Nominations.

Recess until Tuesday, May 3, at 9:30 a.m.

(Convention sessions will be at 9:30, 2:15, and 7:30 on the second day. The Order of Business for the second day will be much the same as on Monday. Ballots will be conducted until a nominee is decided, whereupon nominations for Vice-President will begin, followed by ballots.)





Keynoter for 1960

Former President Harry S. Truman, one of America's two living ex-chief executives, will deliver the traditional keynote address at the opening session of Washington and Lee University's 1960 Democratic Convention on May 2. One of this country's elder statesmen and "Mr. Democrat" within his own party, Mr. Truman was the obvious unanimous choice of the convention's steering committee in its selection of a keynoter.

Mr. Truman's presence at the 1960 Mock Convention is doubly appropriate, for he will take part in the dedication of a memorial plaque honoring his devoted friend and running mate, the late former Vice-President Alben W. Barkley. The dedication will follow Mr. Truman's keynote address.

A Touch of Glamour

There are moments in every convention when the speeches get boring; when the yelling and shrieking becomes exaggerated; when the roll-calls become monotony, and these are the times when men's thoughts drift off to more romantic subjects. One of the nice things about this 1960 convention is the fact that men will have ample opportunity to turn not only their thoughts, but their eyes as well, to feminine pulchritude, the likes of which Lexington hasn't witnessed in many a moon.

Not only will Miss Linda Lee Mead, Miss America of 1959, grace our presence, but she will also take part in the

kick-off parade riding on the float of the New Jersey delegation. Hats off to you, Linda Lee, and hats off to the more than one hundred and fifty other girls from Hollins, Sweet Briar, Southern Seminary, Randolph-Macon, Mary Baldwin, and Greenbrier, whose presence is indeed welcome.



1908-Right with William Jennings Bryan.

1912—Wrong with Judson Harman. Wilson got nomination.

1916-Right with Charles Evans Hughes.

1920-No convention.

1924-Right with John W. Davis.

1928-Right with Al Smith.

1932-Right with Franklin D. Roosevelt.

1936—Wrong with Arthur Vandenburg. Landon was nominated.

1940—Wrong with Charles L. McNary. Wilkie was the nominee.

1944-No Convention.

1948—Wrong with Vandenburg again. Dewey won the nomination.

1952-Right with Dwight D. Eisenhower.



1956—Right with Adlai Stevenson, nominated on the fifth ballot after a strong challenge from Estes Kefauver.

1960



Convention Chairman

The student chairman for 1960 is Charles L. McCormick, III, a senior law student from Halifax, Virginia, and a "veteran" of the 1956 convention. He was chosen from among several candidates for the job by the Student Body Executive Committee. He in turn appointed a convention steering committee, which proceeded to establish various other sub-committees to deal with all phases of organization and planning.



WASHINGTON AND LEE UNIVERSITY

The Convention Officials

Mock Convention Chairman Secretary of the Convention Democratic Chairman Chairman of State Delegations Parade Chairman Virginia Affairs Publicity Director	Frank William Ling Thomas Braxton Bryant, III Thomas Broughton Branch, III Warren Hudson Goodwyn Peyton B. Winfree, III
The Publicity Staff	
Frank Arthur Parsons	Convention Publicity Director
The Campaign Managers	
HUBERT HUMPHREY	Paul Richard Speckman, Jr.
HENRY JACKSON	Alan Morris Corwin
Lyndon Johnson	Jon Walter Montague
JOHN KENNEDY	William Frank Ford
Adlai Stevenson	
STUART SYMINGTON	1 19
OTOMI OTMINOTOM	
1960 States, Votes and Delegation Chairmen	
Alabama (29) Bill McWilliams	Nevada (15) Jack Groner
	New Hampshire (11) Bill Willes
Alaska (9) Henry Meador Arizona (17) Bill Giles	New Jersey (41) Bob Sykes
Arkansas (27) Rard Bevill	New Mexico (17) Robert Gilliam
California (81) John Morrison	New York (114) Kent Frazier
Colorado (21) Mal Brownlee	North Carolina (37) Dick Buice
Connecticut (21) Dick Tager	North Dakota (11) Bill Moore
Delaware (11) Todd Owen	Ohio (64) Ollie Cook
Florida (29) Guy McKenzie	Oklahoma (29) Bob Doenges
Georgia (32) Phil Macon	Oregon (17) Bob Shepherd
Hawaii (9) Bo Bare	Pennsylvania (81) Chris Harrell
Idaho , George Birdsong	Rhode Island (17 Dave Cook
Illinois (69) Chuck Springer	South Carolina (21) Ed Good
Indiana (34) Jack Herrmann	South Dakota (11)
Iowa (26 Dick Parsons	Tennessee (33) Bill Schaefer
Kansas (21) Gerald Clemens	Texas (61) Bock Knickerbocker
Kentucky (31) Bill Young Louisiana (26) Gordon Rountree	Utah (13) Phil Grose Vermont (9) John Petzold
Maine (15) Chris Hutchins	Virginia (33) Ned Ames
Maryland (24) Owen Wise	Washington (27) Larry Smail
Massachusetts (41) Bill Ford	West Virginia (25) Tom O'Brien
Michigan (51) Warren Welsh	Wisconsin (31) John Smythe
Minnesota (31) Paul Speckman	Wyoming (15) Dick Keursteiner
Mississippi (23) James Buckholtz	District of Columbia (9) Merv Silverman
Missauri (as) Ned Olds	Canal Zone (4) Hugo Hoogenhoom

Ned Olds

Lewis Nelson

Canal Zone (4) . . . Hugo Hoogenboom

Puerto Rico (7) Carter Fox

Virgin Islands (4) .

STATES AND TERRITORIES-54; DELEGATES-1,520



Missouri (39)

Montana (17)